Documentation Home
MySQL 8.0 Reference Manual
Related Documentation Download this Manual
PDF (US Ltr) - 40.3Mb
PDF (A4) - 40.4Mb
PDF (RPM) - 39.9Mb
HTML Download (TGZ) - 10.6Mb
HTML Download (Zip) - 10.6Mb
HTML Download (RPM) - 9.2Mb
Man Pages (TGZ) - 241.2Kb
Man Pages (Zip) - 346.4Kb
Info (Gzip) - 3.9Mb
Info (Zip) - 3.9Mb
Excerpts from this Manual

13.4.3.1 START GROUP_REPLICATION Statement

  START GROUP_REPLICATION
          [USER='user_name']
          [, PASSWORD='user_pass']
          [, DEFAULT_AUTH='plugin_name']

Starts group replication. This statement requires the GROUP_REPLICATION_ADMIN privilege (or the deprecated SUPER privilege). If super_read_only=ON is set and the member should join as a primary, super_read_only is set to OFF once Group Replication successfully starts.

From MySQL 8.0.21, you can specify user credentials for distributed recovery on the START GROUP_REPLICATION statement using the USER, PASSWORD, and DEFAULT_AUTH options, as follows:

  • USER: The replication user for distributed recovery. For instructions to set up this account, see Section 18.2.1.3, “User Credentials For Distributed Recovery”. You cannot specify an empty or null string, or omit the USER option if PASSWORD is specified.

  • PASSWORD: The password for the replication user account. The password cannot be encrypted, but it is masked in the query log.

  • DEFAULT_AUTH: The name of the authentication plugin used for the replication user account. If you do not specify this option, MySQL native authentication (the mysql_native_password plugin) is assumed. This option acts as a hint to the server, and the donor for distributed recovery overrides it if a different plugin is associated with the user account on that server. The authentication plugin used by default when you create user accounts in MySQL 8 is the caching SHA-2 authentication plugin (caching_sha2_password). See Section 6.2.17, “Pluggable Authentication” for more information on authentication plugins.

These credentials are used for distributed recovery on the group_replication_recovery channel. When you specify user credentials on START GROUP_REPLICATION, the credentials are saved in memory only, and are removed by a STOP GROUP_REPLICATION statement or server shutdown. You must issue a START GROUP_REPLICATION statement to provide the credentials again. This method is therefore not compatible with starting Group Replication automatically on server start, as specified by the group_replication_start_on_boot system variable.

User credentials specified on START GROUP_REPLICATION take precedence over any user credentials set for the group_replication_recovery channel using a CHANGE MASTER TO statement. Note that user credentials set using CHANGE MASTER TO are stored in the replication metadata repositories, and are used when START GROUP_REPLICATION is specified without user credentials, including automatic starts if the group_replication_start_on_boot system variable is set to ON. To gain the security benefits of specifying user credentials on START GROUP_REPLICATION, ensure that group_replication_start_on_boot is set to OFF (the default is ON), and clear any user credentials previously set for the group_replication_recovery channel, following the instructions in Section 18.5.3, “Securing Distributed Recovery Connections”.