Documentation Home
MySQL Enterprise Backup 4.0 User's Guide
Related Documentation Download this Manual
PDF (US Ltr) - 1.2Mb
PDF (A4) - 1.2Mb
HTML Download (TGZ) - 182.7Kb
HTML Download (Zip) - 213.9Kb


14.3 Restore Operations

The restore operations restores the data files from a backup to their original locations on the database server, or to other desired locations. Normally, the restoration process requires the database server to be already shut down (or, at least not operating on the directory you are restoring the data to), except for restorations of backups created with the --use-tts option. The options datadir, innodb_log_files_in_group, and innodb_log_file_size must be specified either in the target server's configuration file, in the file specified by the --defaults-file option, or as command-line options. For usage examples, see Chapter 5, Recovering or Restoring a Database.

mysqlbackup [STD-OPTIONS]
            [SERVER-REPOSITORY-OPTIONS]
            [--backup-image=IMAGE]
            [--backup-dir=PATH]
            [--uncompress]
            [MESSAGE-LOGGING-OPTIONS]
            [PARTIAL-BACKUP-RESTORE-OPTIONS]
            [PROGRESS-REPORT-OPTIONS]
            [ENCRYPTION-OPTIONS]
            [CLOUD-STORAGE-OPTIONS]
            [ENCRYPTED-INNODB-OPTIONS]
            copy-back-and-apply-log 
mysqlbackup [STD-OPTIONS]
            [SERVER-REPOSITORY-OPTIONS]
            [--backup-dir=PATH]
            [--uncompress]
            [MESSAGE-LOGGING-OPTIONS]
            [PARTIAL-BACKUP-RESTORE-OPTIONS]
            [PROGRESS-REPORT-OPTIONS]
            [CLOUD-STORAGE-OPTIONS]
            [ENCRYPTED-INNODB-OPTIONS]
            copy-back
  • copy-back-and-apply-log

    In a single step, restores a single-file backup specified by the --backup-image option or a backup from the directory specified by the --backup-dir option to a server's data directory and performs an apply-log operation to the restored data to bring them up-to-date. Comparing with a multi-step approach for restoring a single-file backup (which typically consists of performing the successive steps of extract, uncompress, apply-log, and copy-back for restoring compressed image, or extract ,apply-log, and copy-back for uncompressed image), the command makes the restoration process simpler and faster, and also saves the disk space required.

    The following are some special requirements for different kinds of backup restoration using copy-back-and-apply-log:

    • To restore a compressed directory or image, include the --uncompress option in the command line.

    • To restore a single-file backup, besides specifying the location of the backup image with the --backup-image option, also supply with the --backup-dir option the location of a folder that will be used for storing temporary files produced during the restoration process.

    • To restore a single-file incremental backup, assuming the full backup (on which the incremental backup was based) has already been restored:

      • Include the --incremental option in the command line.

      • Specifies the location of the incremental backup image with the --backup-image option

      • Supplies with the --backup-dir or --incremental-backup-dir option the location of a folder that will be used for storing temporary files produced during the restoration process.

    • Advanced: To restore an incremental backup directory, assuming the full backup (on which the incremental backup was based) has already been restored:

    • To restore a backup created with the --use-tts option:

      • See the general requirements described in Section 5.1.4, “Restoring Backups Created with the --use-tts Option”.

      • When restoring a single-file backup created with the option setting --use-tts=with-minimum-locking, the folder specified with --backup-dir is also used for extracting temporarily all the tables in the backup and for performing an apply-log operation to make the data up-to-date before restoring them to the server's data directory.

      • Advanced: When restoring a backup directory created with the option --use-tts=with-minimum-locking, an apply-log operation will be performed on the backup directory. That means the backup taken will be altered during the process, and users might want to make an extra copy of the backup directory before proceeding with the restoration, in order to prevent the loss of backup data in case something goes wrong.

    Also note that:

    • Backups created with the --skip-unused-pages option cannot be restored using copy-back-and-apply-log.

    • For image backups taken with MySQL Enterprise Backup 3.8.2 or earlier, per-table .ibd files pointed to by .isl files in a backup are restored by copy-back-and-apply-log to the server's data directory rather than the locations pointed to by the .isl files.

    • Due to a known issue, when restoring a compressed backup created with MySQL Enterprise Backup 3.9 or earlier and containing any InnoDB tables that were created on the server as compressed tables (by using the ROW_FORMAT=COMPRESSED option, the KEY_BLOCK_SIZE= option, or both), do not use copy-back-and-apply-log; instead, perform an apply-log first, and then a copy-back. See entry for Bug# 17992297 in the MySQL Enterprise Backup 3.10.0 changelog for details.

    At the end of the copy-back-and-apply-log operation, the file backup_variables.txt is being created or updated in the data directory. This file contains metadata about the restored contents and is being used by successive single-step restores of incremental backups; it should not be deleted or modified by users.

    For some sample commands for restoring different kinds of backups with the copy-back-and-apply-log command, see Section 5.1, “Performing a Restore Operation”.

Warning

When restoring a server for replication purpose, if the backed-up server has used the innodb_undo_directory option to put the undo logs outside of the data directory, when using the file server-my.cnf or server-all.cnf for the --defaults-file option with copy-back or copy-back-and-apply-log, care should be taken to configure correctly the innodb_undo_directory option in the file. Otherwise, the data or log files on the original server might be overwritten by accident.


User Comments
Sign Up Login You must be logged in to post a comment.