Documentation Home
MySQL Enterprise Monitor 3.2 Manual
Related Documentation Download this Manual

24.5 MySQL Enterprise Monitor

The MySQL Enterprise Monitor permission grants access to the various configuration settings of the MEM interface. Possible values are:

  • None: no access to the configuration settings.

  • Read-Only: configuration settings are visible, but cannot be edited.

    Authentication-level settings, such as the External Authentication and HTTP Proxy Settings on the Settings page are not visible if this is set to Read-Only.

  • Administer: configuration settings are visible and editable.

Setting any of these values automatically sets the same value for all nested permissions.

Note

The following permissions require Web Application Login and MySQL Enterprise Monitor set to Read-Only, or higher.

Advisor Configuration

Advisor Configuration defines access to the Advisor page and its settings.

Note

Advisors do not run as the user who created or enabled them, but as the system role. This is done to avoid problems such as user deletion, replication topology visibility (advisors collect on complete topology, but user may only see part of that topology). As such, the Advisors cannot be set on a group-specific level; they can only be set at a global level.

  • None: no access to the Advisors. If the user attempts to load the Advisors page, an Access Denied error is displayed.

  • Read-Only: read-only access to the Advisors. The user can view the Advisors, but cannot save changes.

  • Administer: the user has complete access to the Advisors.

Important

Overriding an Advisor at the top-level, not on an individual asset, overrides that Advisor globally, for all users, regardless of their roles. If an Advisor's schedule is changed, or disabled, at the top-level, it affects all users of MySQL Enterprise Service Manager regardless of their group setup.

Event Blackout

Event Blackout: Possible values are:

  • None: no access to Event Handler Blackout menu on MySQL Instances dashboard.

  • Administer: Event Handler Blackout menu is displayed and can be selected.

Event Handlers

The Event Handlers permission grants access to the Event Handlers page and menu item. Possible values are:

  • None: no access to Event Handlers. The Event Handlers menu item is not displayed on the Settings menu.

  • Read-Only: read-only access to Event Handlers. The Event Handlers page is accessible, but it is not possible to create, delete, or edit event handlers.

  • Administer:full access to Event Handlers page. Users associated with this role can create, edit, suspend, and delete Event Handlers.

Note

If the user does not also have Server Group set to at least Read-Only, they are unable to add groups to an Event Handler.

New Group Creation

The New Group Creation permission enables creation of groups. Possible values are:

  • None: no access to server group creation. If Server Group is set to Administer, assigned users can delete and modify existing groups, but cannot create new groups.

  • Administer: full access to server groups. If Server Group is set to Administer, the assigned user can create, delete, and edit server groups. If Server Group is set to Read-Only, the assigned user can create new groups, but cannot modify existing groups.

Note

This permission depends on the Server Group permission. If Server Group is set to None, the user associated with this role cannot access groups and, as a result, cannot create or edit groups, even if New Group Creation is set to Administer.

Settings

The Settings permission grants access to the Settings menu item and Settings page. Possible values are:

  • None: the Settings menu item is not displayed.

  • Read-Only: read-only access to the Settings. Assigned users can open the Settings page, but cannot change any settings.

  • Administer: full access to the Settings. Assigned users can open the Settings page and edit the values.

    Important

    Settings this permission to Administer does not grant access to the External Authentication section of the Settings page.

Users and Roles

Users and Roles: Possible values are:

  • None: no access to the User or Roles pages.

  • Read-Only: read-only access to the Users and Roles pages. Assigned users can view, but not edit.

  • Administer: full access to the Users and Roles pages. Assigned users can view and edit both Users and Roles.


User Comments
Sign Up Login You must be logged in to post a comment.